DALLAS CITY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT #327 BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING April 27, 2017

Mr. Sparrow, President called the meeting to order at 7:03 p.m.

Mr. Sparrow asked Ms. Hellyer to call the roll.

Members answering roll were:

Castillo	Present	Webster	Present
Lionberger	Present	Heidbreder	Present
Sparrow	Present	Blaesing	Present

Greenhalge Present

Also attending the meeting was: Dr. Ryan Olson, Superintendent; Mrs. Alissa Tucker, Principal; Dawn Hellyer Board Secretary, Mona Stevens, Laura Finch, Amy Ryner, Monika Ryan, Sandra Robey, Sarah Schafer & Krista Willits

The Board observed a moment of silence.

There were no agenda questions.

The consent agenda was presented to the board for review.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Lionberger, to approve the items on the Consent Agenda as presented.

Castillo	Aye	Webster	Aye
Lionberger	Aye	Heidbreder	Aye
Sparrow	Aye	Blaesing	Aye
Greenhalge	Δνο		

Greenhalge Aye

Motion carried. 7 Ayes, 0 Absent

The Bills were presented to the Board for payment.

A motion was made by Castillo, seconded by Blaesing, to approve payment of all bills as presented. (Roll call)

Castillo	Aye	Webster	Aye
Lionberger	Aye	Heidbreder	Aye
Sparrow	Aye	Blaesing	Aye
<u> </u>	A		

Greenhalge Aye

Motion carried. 7 Ayes, 0 Absent

Election Results were announced: President of the Board announces results of recent consolidated election. Chris Greenhalge is reelected. Monika Ryan is also elected.

Chris Greenhalge 121 votes in Hancock County, 48 votes in Henderson County Monika Ryan 20 votes in Hancock County, 0 votes in Henderson County

The President administered the oath of office to the two recently elected members. The recently elected members read the oath aloud in unison. After the two recently elected members are seated, they along with the four remaining Board members appointed the President Pro Tem.

A motion was made by Webster, seconded by Castillo, to appoint Dr. Olson as President Pro Tem. (Roll call)

Castillo	Aye	Webster	Aye
Lionberger	Aye	Heidbreder	Aye
Greenhalge	Aye	Ryan	Aye

Brent Sparrow and Betty Blaesing were recognized for their years of service on the board and to the District.

Webster nominated Bob Castillo for President. President Pro Tem; Dr. Olson stated "Hearing no further nominations, the nominations for office of president are now closed". Bob Castillo being the only candidate nominated for the office of president, the chair declared him elected by acclimation and directed the secretary to record it as such in the minutes.

Nominations for Vice President. Lionberger nominated Heidbreder, Castillo nominated Webster.

The vote for Vice President was tied 2 votes for Heidbreder and 2 votes for Webster. Per Dr. Olson and President Castillo they tabled the Vice President until a full board in May.

A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Webster to appoint Dawn Hellyer as Board Secretary. (Roll call)

Castillo	Aye	Webster	Aye
Lionberger	Aye	Heidbreder	Aye
Greenhalge	Aye	Ryan	Aye

Motion carried. 6 Ayes, 0 Absent

A recommendation was made to continue the Regular Board meetings on the 3rd Thursday of the month. A calendar was presented with the date, times and location.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Greenhalge, to approve date, time and location of the Regular Board meetings as presented. (Roll call)

Castillo	Aye	Webster	Aye
Lionberger	Aye	Heidbreder	Aye
Greenhalge	Aye	Ryan	Aye

Motion carried. 6 Ayes, 0 Absent

A Preliminary 2017-2018 Calendar was presented. Discussion took place on changing the first day of school for the Teacher Institute day to August 18th and 21st and the first full day of student attendance to August 22nd. This will mirror the LaHarpe calendar. It was discussed to change Parent Teacher Conference to Wednesday & Thursday evening vs. a Thursday evening a Friday morning. It was decided that is a long day for teachers and limits the parents that work at night the ability to come to PT conference.

A motion was made Heidbreder, seconded by Ryan to approved the ameded calendar for 2017-2018 school year. (Roll call)

Castillo	Aye	Webster	Aye
Lionberger	Aye	Heidbreder	Aye
Greenhalge	Aye	Ryan	Aye

Motion carried. 6 Ayes, 0 Absent

A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Webster to approve the date & time for the FY 2017 Amended Budget Hearing as presented. (Roll call)

Castillo	Aye	Webster	Aye
Lionberger	Aye	Heidbreder	Aye
Greenhalge	Aye	Ryan	Aye

Motion carried. 6 Ayes, 0 Absent

Dr. Olson submitted a written Superintendent's Report which was presented to the Board. Questions from the Board were answered.

The Committee of the whole meeting will take place at the May board meeting starting at 6:15 p.m.

Dr. Olson advised he had purchased Larry Walkers minivan to haul our Special Ed student to Carthage for \$500 to save the district thousands of dollars in insurance and mileage expense.

Mrs. Tucker submitted a written Principal's Report which was presented to the Board. Questions from the Board were answered.

She also advised we were able to purchase 40 more Chrome Books for 4th & 5th grade students.

Mrs. Tucker also stated we had 7 teachers on staff that were nominated through the Hawkeye as Teacher of the Year.

A motion was made by Webster, seconded by Heidbreder, to enter closed session at 7:50 p.m. to discuss items per $5ILCS\ 120/2(c)(1)(10)$ as presented. (Roll call)

Castillo Aye Webster Aye Lionberger Aye Heidbreder Aye Greenhalge Aye Ryan Aye

Motion carried. 6 Ayes, 0 Absent

A motion was made by Lionberger, seconded by Heidbreder to come out of closed session at 9:48 p.m. (Roll call)

Castillo Aye Webster Aye Lionberger Aye Heidbreder Aye Greenhalge Aye Ryan Aye

Motion carried. 6 Ayes, 0 Absent

A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Webster to approve the Personnel Report as presented. (Roll call)

Merydith Marshall-Junior High Math/Science Teacher

Ryan Hopper-Baseball Head Coach

Peyton Porter-Assistant Head Baseball Coach

Ryan Hopper-Junior High Boys Basketball Head Coach

Matt Melvin-Junior High Boys Basketball Assistant Coach

Rod Shipman-5th/6th Grade Boys Basketball Head Coach

Lila Gittings-5th/6th Grade Volleyball

Grant James-Track Head Coach

Courtney Rude-Track Assistant Coach

Beth Newton-Cross County Coach

Castillo Aye Webster Aye Lionberger Aye Heidbreder Aye Greenhalge Aye Ryan Aye

Motion carried. 6 Ayes, 0 Absent

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Webster, to adjourn at 9:52 p.m.

Castillo	Aye	Webster	Aye
Lionberger	Aye	Heidbreder	Aye
Greenhalge	Aye	Ryan	Aye

Motion carried. 6 Ayes, 0 Absent

The next regular Board of Education meeting will be held Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 7:00 p.m.